Details

TitleOne Second After (After, #1)
AuthorWilliam R. Forstchen
ISBN0765317583
ImprintWilliam R. Forstchen Ltd
Rating
Sales rank4.5
LanguageEnglish
FormatHardcover
Pages352

Description

New York Times best selling author William R Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse EMP A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

Reviews

Timmy

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

5 things I hated about One Second After 1 Every important adult male character is either military or ex military Seriously As a bonus, several minor characters that are merely alluded to are also ex military For example, at one point we learn that a pharmacist s husband is an ex ranger and insists t... (Sign in to see more)


Melissa

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

It s too bad this book is so poorly written, because the premise is pretty cool The slipshod editing you may think you re saying must of because that s what it sometimes sounds like, but you re actually saying must ve and any editor with an actual job should know this The ridiculous characters most ... (Sign in to see more)


Alex

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

I understand the well done and well meaning low reviews my fellow bookworms gave this novel Many points I agree with To be honest, I almost clicked three stars myself However, reading One Second After was not about entertainment for me I wanted to learn.Oddly, the premise of this book an EMP electro... (Sign in to see more)


Lyn

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

A movie based upon the novel One Second After by William Forstchen would look a lot like Red Dawn, or Cormac McCarthy s The Road or Mel Gibson s Road Warrior An Electromagnetic Pulse is set off over the United States and all electronic chips of any and every kind are rendered inoperative The author ... (Sign in to see more)


Catriona (LittleBookOwl)

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

I really enjoyed this The premise seems so plausible and that was what made this so scary My poor heartstrings too, I felt so strongly for the characters I did feel a little disappointed when some of the action was skipped over and happened behind the scenes Felt a little cheated a couple of times w... (Sign in to see more)


Joe H

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

This book was possibly the worst book I have ever read and my objections go far beyond the story line The writing style is tedious and lazy how many times were the character s responses to a conversation what or damn But what I find most disturbing are 1 the delusions of grandeur evident in the intr... (Sign in to see more)


Alison

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

Preachy and abrasive, I imagine this book would only appeal to hard core fans of the End of the World novel If the following bit of dialogue turns you off, please don t attempt to read this book Charlie, Americans were so damn unpreparedwe spent a helluva lot of time wringing out hands about global ... (Sign in to see more)


David

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

As much as I like post apocalyptic novels, zombies, aliens, and supernatural horrors are entertaining but not scary, because we know those types of end of the world scenarios are not going to happen One Second After manages to be scary because it sounds very plausible In fact, William Fortsch... (Sign in to see more)


Emily

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

Being a huge fan of post apocalyptic fiction, I decided to take a stab at Mr Forstchen s novel Numerous people had told me to take a look at it, claiming I d probably enjoy it I m not sure that I can be friends with those people any longer Had someone told me that Newt Gingrich wrote the introductio... (Sign in to see more)


Mike

One Second After (After, #1) By William R. Forstchen

Do you rate a book only on the quality of the writing or on how it makes you think after you finish This gets 5 stars for provoking serious thought while the writing itself was just okay Short recap one spring day, 3 nuclear weapons are exploded over the US, generating an Electro Magnetic Pulse EMP ... (Sign in to see more)


Sign up to write a comment.