Details

TitleThe Immortalists
AuthorChloe Benjamin
ISBN073521509X
ImprintChloe Benjamin Ltd
Rating
Sales rank4.5
LanguageEnglish
FormatPaperback
Pages368

Description

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR The Washington Post, NPR, Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, Marie Claire, New York Public Library, LibraryReads, The Skimm, Lit Hub, Lit Reactor AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A captivating family saga The New York Times Book Review This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt People Magazine Book of the Week If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life It s 1969 in New York City s Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die The Gold children four adolescents on the cusp of self awareness sneak out to hear their fortunes.The prophecies inform their next five decades Golden boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in 80s San Francisco dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy eldest son Daniel struggles to maintain security as an army doctor post 9 11 and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.Both a dazzling family love story and a sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Reviews

Emily May

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

And what if I change It seems impossible that Varya s future is already inside her like an actress just offstage, waiting decades to leave the wings Then you d be special Cause most people don t 2 1 2 stars I have a lot of mixed feelings about The Immortalists Though there were parts I enj... (Sign in to see more)


Elyse Walters

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

Update I must add one thought to this review The Book Cover is not only lovely but now that I ve read the book I recognize this perfect design is symbolic to this story Jewish Kabbalists believe The Tree of Life to be a diagrammatic representation of the process by which the Universe came into bein... (Sign in to see more)


Julie

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin is a 2018 G.P Putnam s Sons publication In a novel, so centered on death, there is a tremendous amount of life and living within these pages.Beginning in 1969, the four Gold siblings boldly knock on the door of a fortune teller who then proceeds to impart to them t... (Sign in to see more)


Navidad Thélamour

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

See my exclusive interview with Chloe Benjamin about her novel The Immortalists here There are two major theories about how to stop aging It sounds like you re saying we can choose to live Or we can choose to survive Chloe Benjamin s The Immortalists is a thoughtfully executed ... (Sign in to see more)


Annet

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

The Immortalists Imagine you are a kid and together with your siblings you sneak out of the house to go see a gypsy woman who is said to be able predict the day you die It s 1969 in New York City s East side, and word has spread about a mystical woman, a traveling psychic.You go to see her and all o... (Sign in to see more)


Larry H

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

I d rate this 4.5 stars.If you could know the exact day of your death, would you want to find out If you did find out, how would knowing that information affect how you lived your life These questions are at the heart of The Immortalists , Chloe Benjamin s deeply affecting and beautifully wri... (Sign in to see more)


Emily (Books with Emily Fox)

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

3.5 3.75 I actually ended up liking this than I expected The premise was very intriguing Four siblings meet a psychic who tells them the exact date they will die It then influences how they choose to live their lives.This felt like a historical fiction contemporary than fantasy sci fi so be warned... (Sign in to see more)


Paromjit

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin s epic The Immortalists has us considering some of the most fundamental and complex questions about life and how we live it It is thought provoking as it asks does knowledge of our mortality make us live our life to the utmost or makes us fearful, guilty, and seek to outwit death It i... (Sign in to see more)


Hannah Greendale

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

Conceptually intriguing but lackluster in its execution Benjamin s contemporary coming of age tantalizes with its premise of four siblings who encounter a traveling psychic who reveals when they will die but is feather light in its examination of the line between destiny and choice Despite mention o... (Sign in to see more)


Norma * Traveling Sister

The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin

This was a Traveling Sisters Group Read, and only two of us were left standing in the Lush Coulee with the rest of the sisters leaving the coulee at or before the first goal of this book Thank you to Jennifer for reading this one with me, it was a pleasure and I loved the discussion this book brough... (Sign in to see more)


Sign up to write a comment.