Details

TitleThe Last Romantics
AuthorTara Conklin
ISBN0062358200
ImprintTara Conklin Ltd
Rating
Sales rank4.5
FormatHardcover
Pages368

Description

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we ve read and watched and witnessed Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions We tell these stories until we believe them When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause a free and feral summer in a middle class Connecticut town Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they ve made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose and sometimes rescue the ones we love A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

Reviews

Meredith

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

4.5 stars The Last Romantics is about love Real love, true love Imperfect, wretched, weak love No fairy tales, no poetry It is about the negotiations we undertake with ourselves in the name of love This is the story of four siblings Renee, Caroline, Joseph, and Fiona Skinner When their unex... (Sign in to see more)


Angela M

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

The heartbreaking times during the Pause for the four Skinner children is tempered only by the love they have for each other and the care they give to each other This time during their mother s paralyzing grief over the loss of their father, when all they had was each other will break your heart but... (Sign in to see more)


Tammy

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

Romantic love, friendly love, familial love, unconditional love, committed love, practical love and self love The Greeks had words for these ways of loving Eros, Philia, Storge, Agape, Ludus, Pragma, and Philautia This book is about love in all its forms Love that stretches, binds, breaks, is betray... (Sign in to see more)


Karen

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

This is the story of four siblings Renee 11, Caroline 8, Joe 7, and Fiona 4who s dad dies suddenly in 1981 The mom, Noni retreats to her bedroom in a paralyzing depression for a few years length of time which the children call The Pause and the bonds grow deep between the siblings as they look out a... (Sign in to see more)


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

At the risk of being overzealous, this book is everything The Last Romantics is the story of four siblings and their love Fiona Skinner is a famous poet, and when she is asked what inspired her most well known work, The Love Poem, she shares the story of the four Skinner siblings, Joe, Caroline, Ren... (Sign in to see more)


*TUDOR^QUEEN*

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

4.5 Stars.Thank you to the publisher William Morrow Harper Collins who provided an advance reader copy via Edelweiss This is a story about a family with four kids who live in the middle class town of Bexley, Connecticut It s 1981, and their father, Ellis Avery Skinner dies suddenly at the age of 34 ... (Sign in to see more)


Elizabeth of Silver&

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

The family had to move to a smaller house and a not so nice neighborhood and to fend for themselves because they only saw their mother when she decided to venture out from her bedroom Renee was the oldest, Caroline was next in line, Joe was the only boy, and Fiona was the baby when it all happened T... (Sign in to see more)


Bkwmlee

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

This was a book that I very nearly devoured in 2 sittings if it weren t for the fact that I had work and family obligations I had to take care of, so I ended up finishing the last dozen pages or so just now turned out to be 3 sittings, not 2 In all honesty, when I first picked up the ARC of this boo... (Sign in to see more)


Jennifer

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

I received this book through the First Reads giveaway program.A powerful, at times heartbreaking, novel about the bonds of family and the power of its love Richly defined characters, prose that kept me reaching for a highlighter, and a smooth flowing storyline made me sad to turn the last page A stu... (Sign in to see more)


Melissa Crytzer Fry

The Last Romantics By Tara Conklin

Having adored the literary writing style and storyline of The House Girl, I was anxiously awaiting Tara Conklin s next book It didn t matter how many years in between, as I am always willing to wait for a talented author s next novel Such was the case with Tara Conklin s sopho tale.Whi... (Sign in to see more)


Sign up to write a comment.