Details

TitleThe Woman in the Lake
AuthorNicola Cornick
ISBN1525823558
ImprintNicola Cornick Ltd
Rating
Sales rank4.5
LanguageEnglish
FormatPaperback
Pages320

Description

From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge part history, part mystery for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara ErskineLondon, 1765Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her new golden gown and destroy it, its shimmering beauty tainted by the actions of her brutal husband the night before.Three months later, Lord Gerard stands at the shoreline of the lake, looking down at a woman wearing the golden gown As the body slowly rolls over to reveal her face, it s clear this was not his intended victim 250 Years Later When a gown she stole from a historic home as a child is mysteriously returned to Fenella Brightwell, it begins to possess her in exactly the same way that it did as a girl Soon the fragile new life Fen has created for herself away from her abusive ex husband is threatened at its foundations by the gown s power over her until she can t tell what is real and what is imaginary.As Fen uncovers about the gown and Isabella s story, she begins to see the parallels with her own life When each piece of history is revealed, the gown and its past seems to possess her and , culminating in a dramatic revelation set to destroy her sanity.

Reviews

Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

4 stars to The Woman in the Lake I read my first book by author, Nicola Cornick, The Phantom Tree, just a couple months ago Thanks to my dear friend, Stephanie, for the recommendation for this author After that breathtaking experience, I couldn t wait to read The Woman in the Lake It held up There a... (Sign in to see more)


Elizabeth

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

The Woman in the Lake is a dual timeline story, one branch set in 18th century England, the other in present day Great Britain There s a touch of suspense and the supernatural, a tiny bit of romance present day timeline only , and a whole lot of murderous intent Sadly, neither plotline works the cha... (Sign in to see more)


Stephanie

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

I read The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick a couple of months ago and just fell in love with Cornick s writing I love how quickly she managed to transport me to a completely different place and time period with her lyrical writing, and she succeeded it again with her newest novel, The Woman... (Sign in to see more)


Karen Kay

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

I received this from netgalley.com in exchange for a review Dual timelines set in present day and 1760 s a delicious tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge that spans the generations between decadent Georgian society and present day , I didn t find it quite so delicious.I was never truly vest... (Sign in to see more)


Sharlene

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

I love Nicola Cornick s books They never disappoint.From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge part history, part mystery for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine.This one definitely wil... (Sign in to see more)


Emilie

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

I received an ARC of this book.I was pretty excited to read this book, having really enjoyed the author s previous work Threads of suspense, danger, romance, and the supernatural were woven together through a mysterious yet breathtakingly beautiful golden dress The dress led to lies, violence, jealo... (Sign in to see more)


Rebecca

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

Thanks to the publisher, via Netgalley, for an advance e galley in exchange for an honest review.3.5ish stars, rounded up The Woman in the Lake is the kind of book that reminds me that I do, in fact, like historical fiction It s set both in 1765 and in contemporary Swindon, and it s clear ear... (Sign in to see more)


Alexandra Plath

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

This book caught my eye on Netgalley right away, as I am a sucker for historical fiction especially with interwoven timelines It did not disappoint It had a mysterious gothic fiction vibe, which I loved, and a gripping plot I couldn t put it down because the pacing was spectacular The mysteries slow... (Sign in to see more)


Sara

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

I was invested in this book right out of the gate It was so interesting and the back and forth between past and present was really cool and intriguing I loved the mystery that was threaded throughout the story The bizarre nature of the gown and what it might be capable of was such a subtle threat an... (Sign in to see more)


Leonie Byrne

The Woman in the Lake By Nicola Cornick

Thank you to Netgalley, Nicola Cornick and HQ publishing for my ARC of The Woman in the Lake in exchange for an honest review Synopsis In 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard is in an unhappy marriage with a physically and mentally abusive husband When he gives her a golden gown as a gift she suddenly finds he... (Sign in to see more)


Sign up to write a comment.