Half of What You Hear by Kristyn Kusek Lewis


Half of What You Hear
Title : Half of What You Hear
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062673351
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 368

From well loved women s fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.Greyhill, Virginia refuge of old money, old mansions, and old fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn t just got a few new residents When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect Sure, moving to Cole s small hometown means she ll have to live across the street from her mother in law, and yes, there s going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole s family s inn keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington She needs it to be After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is any.But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done Instead of the simpler life she d banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town s elite private school When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post s lifestyle supplement falls into Bess s lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill s most notorious resident.Susannah Cricket Lane, fruit of the town s deepest rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades long hiatus The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible But is Susannah being sincere with Bess or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill s darkest secrets As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding.


Half of What You Hear Reviews


  • Page

    After reading a few too many World War II novels in a row, I needed something a little less depressing Half of What You Hear was a perfect palate cleanser It s light and fast paced The characters are believable, and the relationships ring true Not everything in this book is happy far from it Many of the characters are deeply flawed, and all of the characters face struggles But if you re looking for a quick, engaging read, I recommend it Now back to the Nazis.Thanks to Edelweiss for an After reading a few too many World War II novels in a row, I needed something a little less depressing Half of What You Hear was a perfect palate cleanser It s light and fast paced The characters are believable, and the relationships ring true Not everything in this book is happy far from it Many of the characters are deeply flawed, and all of the characters face struggles But if you re looking for a quick, engaging read, I recommend it Now back to the Nazis.Thanks to Edelweiss for an advance copy

  • Liz Fenton

    Incredibly intriguing, Half of What You Hear is a must read that artfully delves its way through the layers of gossip, secrets and lies of the small and seemingly charming town of Greybill, where everyone knows your name, and oh so much Buckle up for a fun ride and one thing is for sure you won t know who to believe until the very end.

  • Elizabeth of Silver&

    FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON DECEMBER 31 HALF OF WHAT YOU HEAR addressed social issues as well as personal issues of fitting in.There are secrets that the residents of Greyhill have kept for many years, and as the mystery unravels, the book s interest picks up and ends up with a few surprises There also are a few very unlikable residents 4 5This book was given to me by the publisher via Edelweiss as an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

  • Sandra

    This was an ok read, but it didn t really keep my attention I thought the characters were mostly well written, and the town, but maybe there was too much drama, or maybe the plot just didn t jibe with me all the way through It had too many mysteries going on, so I ended up not really caring about any of them I enjoyed it, but didn t love it.

  • Patty

    Half Of What You HearByKristyn Kusek LewisWhat it s all aboutWhen Cole and Bess return to Cole s small Virginia town to run his family s inn they have no idea of what living in a small close knit community would be like Mean girls, mean women, gossiplots of gossipsurround them Not only does Bess have trouble trying to fit in but her daughter does, too Why I wanted to read itI love books like this onethere is lots of mystery and intrigue mixed in with growing up in a small town Half Of What You HearByKristyn Kusek LewisWhat it s all aboutWhen Cole and Bess return to Cole s small Virginia town to run his family s inn they have no idea of what living in a small close knit community would be like Mean girls, mean women, gossiplots of gossipsurround them Not only does Bess have trouble trying to fit in but her daughter does, too Why I wanted to read itI love books like this onethere is lots of mystery and intrigue mixed in with growing up in a small town that has lots of secrets Susannah is one of those mysteries After living in NYC she returns only to shake this small town up again She is quite a character And a character that Bess gets involved with right away What made me truly enjoy this bookI tend to forget just how nasty mean girls can be and how difficult it is to stand up to them Bess not only has issues with women her age but also her daughter and her mother in law Why you should read it, tooReaders who love small town mysteries with a Southern twist will love this book I received an advance reader s copy of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss and It was my choice to read it and review it

  • Susan Csoke

    Bess is elated to be leaving Washington with her husband Cole and their twins to begin a new life in old quiet Greyhill Virginia just across the road from Cole s mother Soon Bess is rethinking her decision as she unravels the dark secrets of Susannah Lane, a prominent figure in Greyhill Thankyou Goodreads for this free book.

  • Rachel Wells

    When Bess and Cole leave DC for Greyhill, VA to take over Cole s parents inn, the picturesque town seems like the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of their old life However, small town southern life is a whole different ball game As Bess dives into the intricacies of what makes this town tick and the rumor mill run , she discovers that not everything is as it seems in Greyhill Kristyn has managed to capture life in a southern townwhere everyone knows your name and your business When Bess and Cole leave DC for Greyhill, VA to take over Cole s parents inn, the picturesque town seems like the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of their old life However, small town southern life is a whole different ball game As Bess dives into the intricacies of what makes this town tick and the rumor mill run , she discovers that not everything is as it seems in Greyhill Kristyn has managed to capture life in a southern townwhere everyone knows your name and your business before you do This book was a charming tale filled with just the right dash of suspense and intrigue to keep the pages turning

  • Amy

    A decent read about a woman who moves with her family to her husband s hometown in Virginia She writes a newspaper article about a resident from one of the prominent familes of the town and finds she has to deal with the drama, gossip and secrets of the people and their community I enjoyed this book And the main character had twinsas did I Always fun to read about something you can relate to.

  • Amanda

    Decent, quick read Thank you to thre publisher and Edelweiss for the ARC.

  • Nanette

    3.5 stars Reviewed for Booklist.